Latest Tweets!
Home \ International Issues \ Trump signs executive order for 90 day travel ban
Immigration center travel ban

Trump signs executive order for 90 day travel ban


Today President Donald Trump signed an executive order entitled “Protecting the Nation From Foreign Terrorist Entry Into the United States,” which immediately suspends for a period of least 90 days the admission of nationals of Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen into the United States. The executive order states that the travel ban applies to nationals of the seven named countries who seek entry into the U.S. as refugees, visa holders or immigrants. The ban does not apply to diplomats or government officials of the seven named countries.

Additionally, the executive order suspends the visa interview waiver program, which allows consulates to waive the visa interview requirement for certain applicants renewing their visa stamps at the consulate. The executive order does not affect the Visa Waiver Program, which provides for visa-free admission for citizens of certain counties in Europe and others not deemed to be a risk for visa overstays or security issues.

The executive order also directs the Department of State, Department of Homeland Security and Director of National Intelligence to evaluate the government’s access to information needed for the vetting process and, based on that review, to recommend additional countries that should be included in the travel ban.


Leave a Reply


Check Also

putin white house invitation

Trump Invites Putin To White House – What’s The Dress Code?

4/1/2018 In a surprising move, President Trump invited Russian President Putin to a White House ...